A List. Yep.

we all knew it was coming, right? The post that is just a list of random information, devoid of interesting pictures or entertainment value, that staple of my blogging style. And here we go:

1. I’m averaging 3 cups of tea a day and loving it.

2. I resolved today that by the time I leave Oxford, I will be able to consistently compete with Kirsty in table football and beat her at least 40% of the time. That’s right, Kirsty, I’m comin’ for ya. (Now, I have nothing in particular against Kirsty or her skill level at table football, but it’s a nice objective and competitive goal, rather than ‘I’m going to get better at table football.’) Right now, I’m really bad. And I don’t even understand how to get better. I think I need to improve my reflexes? Priorities, people.

3. I think I was just forced to agree to a double tutorial on Friday. Two back-to-back hours of Kant tutorial with the tutor who is opposed to encouragement on principle and with whom I struggle to communicate. My tutor and I sort of walked by each other in the hall, but didn’t quite recognize each other, so I could have gotten away without talking to her. Even before the tutor started to say anything, I had a bad feeling about our conversation. I was thisclose to pretending like I hadn’t seen her and dashing up the stairs, but (1) that would be really hard to explain in tutorial and (2) I’m wearing freakishly painful heels today and would probably have fallen up or down the stairs.

Doctor: How did you get a concussion?

Me: Well, I was scared of my tutor, and my fight or flight response took over. Also, natural selection seems to be indicating that dressing nicely is not where we’re headed as a species.

Doctor: …

Me: It’s Kant’s fault!

4. The Whiteboard Saga

As you may or may not know, I need whiteboards to write essays. I like the space I have to write and make physical connections between ideas, I like that I’m not wasting tons of paper, I like that I can walk around the board, rather than just hunching over a piece of paper, or (even worse!) a computer screen. Apparently they don’t share my affinity for whiteboards in the U.K. I’ve seen maybe one.

Well, I thought I was going to make it okay. I would just write on notebook paper, and just…not use a whiteboard. People do it all the time, right?

Well, I couldn’t. The night of the Meltdown (first of many, I’m sure), I realized that I was supposed to write about a whole field of philosophical study, at least 4 similar, but distinct theories, and make some sort of argument about it. All of which I’d gained information about from 6 different books. There was nothing to be done but make my own whiteboard. I taped together a bunch of pieces of notebook paper on the wall and got to work. And after an hour or so of whiteboarding, I understood everything so much better than I had before. Excellent pictures by Jess of that whiteboard are here.

Well, I’ve since bought a pack of dry erase markers, and I’m planning to start work on my next paper tonight. I’m going to hang a sheet out our back porch to provide a light background when it’s night, and write on the windows with my dry erase markers. You maybe think I’m being a little overzealous about this because it makes a funny story. Nope.  I legitimately will do whatever it takes to approximate a whiteboard. I’m sure pictures of the Kitchen Window and Sheet Whiteboard will be up on the blog in days to come. Ya gotta do what ya gotta do…

2 Comments on “A List. Yep.”

  1. Kirsty (aka the Table Football Queen) says:

    Game on!

  2. grandma says:

    How about buying a portable whiteboard? Use as room divider when not in use.

    Try to imagine what a serious life your tutor must live…I wonder if she is happy…maybe she has had a severe tragedy, has suffered student dis-like, has few friends. Karen, sympathy may help you “like” poor Mrs. Tutor.


Leave a Reply

