Week 2

Week 2…happened.

Schedule of the Week:

7:15: breakfast

8:devotions that we either lead or contribute to as other interns lead

9-12: tutoring a kid or two as they gain reading/math/writing/etc skills and learn about the Civil Rights Movement

12-12:30: lunch and my crunch time as I announce job assignments and make adjustments on the fly

12:30-3:30: work projects

3:30-5:30: free time, often used to start on the next job assignments

5:30: dinner, made by the amazing Abi

6:30-9: Bible Clubs in church families’ backyards or at apartment complexes

9-bedtime (usually 12 or later): at least a couple of hours of working on job assignments for the next day, prep for devotions, debriefing as needed

Verse of the Week: James 1:19-20-“My dear brothers and sisters, take note of this: Everyone should be quick to listen, slow to speak and slow to become angry, because human anger does not produce the righteousness that God desires.” A combination of the collective maturity of 30 kids going into freshman and sophomore year, a second week of short hours of sleep and long hours of work, and my sin, meant that I started dealing with the kids more out of a spirit of frustration and a desire to “fix” them by my own methods. Leadership is tough, and I was learning by messing it up, the balance between calling people out on their sin, challenging them to a higher standard, and giving them mercy, (God’s mercy draws us to repentence) etc.  I always know that I am learning something when I realize that I am messing it up a lot, have to ask for forgiveness, and then try again.

 

Photo of the Week: none. I haven’t taken any photos yet. I should probably do that. After the (literally) thousands of photos (I think it was around 2,000) I took last summer, I wouldn’t want to finish this summer and have no photographic evidence that it happened. The same thing happened for freshman and sophomore years, though. Lots of pictures freshman year, and approximately 60 sophomore year, most of those photos of articles that I didn’t want to take the time to photocopy.

 

Evidence That I Am Actually Doing Something of the Week:

The asterisks show that the folks have worked at the church grounds doing yard work, which is something I keep track of because we try to only have folks do that once per week. The pound symbol shows that they have stayed and worked with the tutoring kids in the afternoon for their afternoon work project, which is also something I try to limit once a week, in order to get them off campus and give them some variety.

 

Missing Interns of the Week: Rhoda and Rachel worked with the team in South City this week; Rhoda will be there for the next four weeks with each of us rotating down to be with her. We really missed them. I missed their laughter and honesty and wise perspectives. So it was wonderful to get together with them on Wednesday night and laugh a TON and cat-call at random folks walking by and laugh some more.

Last Minute Road Trip of the Week: Emily’s plans to take the bus back home to Chicago fell through at the last minute, so we hopped in the car early Friday morning to drive up there. She dropped me off at the Eisenbraun’s house, who were generous to let me crash with them for the night, and I got to explore the second most diverse zipcode in the country over the last day. It’s been great! So, we’ll drive back tonight, and jump right back in with groups totaling over 60 people.

God is faithful, and He is using messed up folks to show His love. I get to be part of it!

Leave a Reply

