Mood Swing

We all know that I let my professors’ feedback affect my opinion way too much. So imagine my responses when I got these two pieces of feedback to two different versions of my outline for a paper. (the caps lock is just because the email system doesn’t allow italics, and so my professor’s comments need to be distinguished somehow. even though I know this, it makes everything she says about 6 times as intense.)

I got this as part of a response this morning: “IT SEEMED AS THOUGH YOU WERE RAISING TWO DIFFERENT OBJECTIONS AS ONE, AND THEN LATER RAISING ONE OF THE OBJECTIONS AS A NEW OBJECTION, AND THEN REPEATING THE ORIGINAL OBJECTION AS A NEW ARGUMENT, MIXED IN WITH WHAT OUGHT TO HAVE BEEN EARLIER SUMMARY AS A NEW ARGUMENT. ” whew. I mean, she had a point, but…man.

And then I got my act together, talked to her about a new idea, and whipped together a new outline. Here’s part of the feedback I got: “BUT IF YOU CAN USE EXAMPLES TO SUPPORT YOUR REASONING, WHILE STILL KEEPING ON TRACK WITH THE BASIC ANALYSIS ITSELF, I THINK YOU WILL HAVE A FANTASTIC–AND ACTUALLY PHILOSOPHICALLY IMPORTANT!–ARGUMENT” So…that’s good news. But I need to get my act together and write these two papers. So, that’s happening.

One Comment on “Mood Swing”

  1. Shirley A Keyser says:

    Tough instructior…but I bet you are learning…don’t you wish you didn’t have to learn how to learn?

    Grandma


Leave a Reply

