A Long Time

I have been here a long time. Almost three months it’s been.

Since I’ve been here, the World Cup was anticipated, happened, was watched by the whole world, and has been forgotten. All while I’ve been here.

Since I’ve been here, my friends have gone to Africa for a month, had life-changing experiences, come back home, processed their experiences, and readjusted to life.

Since I’ve been here, Susan the Missionary Extraordinaire went from it not even seeming real that she was going to leave, to packing, to realizing it was real, to difficult goodbyes, to actually leaving, to adjusting to a new place and making decisions about her life. And I’m still here.

Since I’ve been here, my friends have been apart for long stretches of time, missed each other, and seen each other again. And I’m still here.

Since I’ve been here, people have done whole research projects and summer classes. People have taaken 12 credits, since I’ve been here.

Since I’ve been here, my family has taken our every-other-year trip to Oregon and their every year trip to Congo.

Since I’ve been here, a City Lights, tutoring, and Harambee summer has happened, and people have recovered from it. And I’m still here.

Since I’ve been here, my grandpa was completely healthy, was diagnosed with very unexpected advanced colon cancer (well, technically that happened two days before I left), had surgery, recovered from the surgery, had chemo, found out that it has spread, discontinued chemo, and started hospice care. And I’m still here.

I’ve been here a long time.

3 Comments on “A Long Time”

  1. Melissa Hartwell says:

    It won’t be long now until you are home. You’ve done good work! You can be pleased. HE is pleased.

  2. Yes, dear Karen, you have made so many adjustments by now that you may as well stay the whole 3-yr. term…just kidding.

    You have grown up at least in many ways at least 5 years. But you are still a young woman, just wiser.

    Love you lots. I think you’ve had a lot of fun.

  3. Your Dad says:

    Time passes.
    Things happen.
    We are impacted by the events of life and yet we are on a different and parallel path at this time.
    I frequently say that we were created to live forever and not be bound by time.
    And now I sit here with tears on my cheeks thinking of all the other effects of the fall that we were not created for–passing of time, suffering and pain and the finality of death.
    Yet deep down I have a hope, a peace and a confidence that the joy on the other side will be far greater the the current pain.

    “Yet, we don’t have a priest who is out of touch with our reality. He’s been through weakness and testing, experienced it all—all but the sin.” “Consider him who endured such opposition from sinful men, so that you will not grow weary and lose heart.” Hebrews 4 and 12


Leave a Reply

