Pictures! To Bring Joy to Your Lives! And Prove I’m Not Dead!

I translate for/teach/try to maintain some semblance of control (actually it’s not that bad) of the basketball part of the camp. It’s a rowdy, fun group. The spanish that the team from the U.S. picks up makes me laugh. It’s all super functional. Like, the helper in this picture quickly learned the word “casi”, or “almost”  to encourage the girls as they were learning to shoot. And he learned “buena forma”, my approximation (probably wrong) of “good form” to tell the girls that they had good form, even if it didn’t go in. The team is going to go back with a rather random collection of spanish knowledge.

Here you can see the armies of the Philistines and the Israelites arrayed, with Goliath in the middle. The kids are really digging the skits. It’s fun. And Eli Ward makes a hyperactive, crazy, great David.

Here is Chloe, one of David’s sheep. The Westminster team has been super creative with the costumes, it’s great. Here’s a photo of the whole group in their costumes:

The kids got super into the Peruvian Independence Day yesterday. Everyone wore red and white. It was fun. Did you know that the Peruvian national anthem has 6 verses? It’s intense. People only usually sing the first and maybe the last.

These are two of my favoritest people. I lovelovelove the way Enrique interacts with Josue. At church and at the sports camp and wherever, they just chill out. Enrique is so great with him.  Every time he talks about Josue, he shakes his head and says, “Me encanta a Josue.” (“I love him” is the translation, but you’ll understand it better how he says it if you think about him saying, “I just love that little guy.”)

I just love the faces in this photo. They are so intense and happy.

Speaking of faces I love….Genesis is a cutie, for sure.

One last face to leave you with.

Love and busyness of intense proportions,

Karen

(Also: pictures as higher resolutions here: http://makeupyourmindjesserman.tumblr.com/)

9 Comments on “Pictures! To Bring Joy to Your Lives! And Prove I’m Not Dead!”

  1. Wonderful photos. Beautiful people. Glad you are having this experience.

    Love,
    Grandma

    • Mom says:

      You always bring joy to my life, dear Karen. I am glad you get to have your teams come at the end, a high point in your time there. I hope you are able to laugh during all the craziness and chaos. Be easy on yourself and your expectations. God is in control. His power is made strong in our weaknesses. I love you. Looking forward to seeing you in a few weeks for a little SUNSHINE and rest. Susan is pumped to be there in a few days.

  2. Diana says:

    I’m glad your not dead. I was worried for a while there. Call me on skype when you have a chance.

  3. Dad says:

    Karen, continue to learn to lean on God and His “unforced rhythms of grace.”

    Matthew 11:28-30 (The Message)

    “Are you tired? Worn out? Burned out on religion? Come to me. Get away with me and you’ll recover your life. I’ll show you how to take a real rest. Walk with me and work with me—watch how I do it. Learn the unforced rhythms of grace. I won’t lay anything heavy or ill-fitting on you. Keep company with me and you’ll learn to live freely and lightly.”

  4. christine marie says:

    you are crazy awesome. thanks for using your skillz to capture a little bit of life there.

  5. Lindsey says:

    hi. i like these pictures. a lot.

    🙂

  6. Karen Heirendt says:

    Great photos Karen…do you ever want to pinch yourself to make sure this life you are living isn’t really the dream you had as a child when you saw pictures other missionaries shared at church? I’m sure you are doing wonderful work and that you consider these new relationships a gift from the Lord.

  7. cyntaur23 says:

    I like all of these faces so much!
    They are happy and full of life.
    Love love!

  8. […] pictures of people and nature and cute […]


Leave a Reply

