A Day in the Life

Yesterday I…

got up at 7.

read my Bible. I’m reading Colossians, to stay up with my church in Kansas City.

rode on a combi for 45 minutes to the Wards’ house. Pretty uneventful, except a nice man gave me his seat.

calculated on the combi that it was a Level 4 Grey Morning in La Molina (the neighborhood where the other missionaries live), on a scale of one to 10, 10 being the grey-est. It is always at least an 8 in Salamanca where we live in the mornings. And usually about that much all day. But in La Molina afternoons usually clear up to a glorious 2 or 3. And sometimes it is completely clear! It’s lovely.

went over stuff for the team that’s coming with Sara. My life is going to get crazy on Friday. It’ll be good, but…crazy. So, please be praying for that.

recropped a bunch of photos for the website.

possibly decided that those photos are unneccessary.

wrote three emails in spanish to the team.

drank a ton of water.

laid in the Ward’s backyard in the glorious sun for 15 minutes and was so, so thankful that God put a huge Thing of burning gases, unimaginably far away that could warm my clothes and make me remember that being warm, even hot, will be normal in a few short weeks.

talked to Miss Suzanne.

left the Ward’s house at 5.

grabbed a bite to eat before the 6 o’clock prayer meeting.

got there 10 minutes late, and was the second person there.

helped set up and waited for the next people to come. The first non-leader, non-intern people showed up at 6:20, and the 6 o’clock meeting started promptly at 6:30. It doesn’t bother me, but things like that do make me laugh. Youth group has started 45 and 40 minutes late the last two weeks.

Anyways, back to what I did yesterday:

prayed in prayer meeting. By the grace of God, I was not too restless and enjoyed praying with my brothers and sisters somewhat.

walked Rosa home. Rosa is a dear, tiny older lady from the church who I walk home after prayer every Wednesday. My walks with her are some of the slowest, sweetest walks I take.

ran to the office with the girls to pick up our laundry.

had Paulo over for a little bit. We ate ice cream and talked about what God has done in our lives and laughed at each other a lot. It was good to have him over. We’ve missed Paulo since Susan left and his studies got really intense.

freaked out trying to deal with our landlady who likes to call and say, “I’ll be over tomorrow at 8 o’clock in the morning on your free day and you need to pay me this large sum of money that you had no idea that you owed me and have a sneaking suspicion that you don’t actually owe me. I hope you have it in cash because I’m coming for it tomorrow, did I mention that is will be quite early and on your free day? Also, if you try to say anything while I’m talking to you on the phone, I’m just going to talk louder and not listen to you, okay? Okaysoundsgoodseeyouinthe(early,early)morningbye.” Only in Spanish. And three times as fast and twice as forceful. BUT! Good news, I called her today, got completely talked-over and hung up on once, called back and communicated that we don’t have the money, since she called us last night at 10 o’clock and the banks aren’t open yet, and that we would pay her tomorrow. So now I have time to talk to Enrique and make sure we really have to pay this.

listened to a conversation that included this exchange: “I just think that fine people are prone to partying.” “That just what I was thinking!!”

went to bed at 11 o’clock. I know, they should revoke my teenager license.

2 Comments on “A Day in the Life”

  1. Loved to read about your day’s events.

    In Africa, you are not “late” until 1 hr. after starting time…USA? 10 min.

    God bless each word and deed for His kingdom’s sake.

    Love,
    Grandma

  2. […] For a glimpse into my neighborhood and a typical day […]


Leave a Reply

