Fruit of the Day, III

In this episode: things that are cute only by virtue of their size, bananas, and four un-fruit-related thoughts. It’s a cute Fruit of the Day, with bonus thoughts! Get excited!

Previously on Fruit of the Day: other fruits, many exclamation points, and attempts at describing the absolutely bizarre sensation of slimy and crunchy together. That’s all you need to know that happened previously.

…to be continued.

…right now:

Platanos biscochitos! Them’s is little bananas. Like, three inches long. Say it with me now, “awww, how cute!”

(yes, the picture is sideways. Tilt your head.)

Sara Ward offered my one, and my reaction was, first, “awww, how cute” because that is the reaction that is required from a human being when seeing a three inch long banana.

It was a bit riper (Q and A Time: Is that a word? Am I okay that it’s not? No; yes.) than I prefer for a banana, but I approached it with all the bravado and curiosity of a missionary intern. Primer: The skin was thinner than I expected. Segundo: it was a stronger banana flavor than I’m used to. Tercer: I liked it, but I’d have to have it a bit less ripe. Bonus, though!: they’re tiny. (insert : aww, how cute here) You could eat like five. And then you’d have 5 tiny, cute banana peels. Aww, how cute… (are you sensing a theme?)

Four un-fruit-related thoughts: (I can’t get the font etc to change. Sorry)
1. Susan is leaving. We are mourning this and having like four despedidas for her (House of Glory, jovenes, church, a party for everyone). But we are rejoicing and thanking God for her and in all circumstances.
2. I was walking home from House of Glory tonight, and I heard trumpets playing nearby. I said to myself, “Karen, a rule for your life is this: ‘If you hear live trumpets and you don’t have anywhere you have to be, go find them.'” And so I did. A couple of block away, there was a MARIACHI BAND! Serenading an apartment! And all the neighbors had come outside to watch. I stood there, listening to the band and just reveled in the camaraderie and the good music and the thoughtfulness and effort of the person who had arranged this. The band finished and went inside with whoever they had come to serenade and I could barely keep myself from skipping home. I felt like running and skipping and hugging people. I burst into the apartment where lots of lovely people were talking and tried to explain all this with jumbled, excited Spanish, and I’m not sure that I communicated anything except that I was so full of joy that I couldn’t conjugate verbs. It made me think of Cynthia. If I ever want to make her so happy she dies, I will hire a mariachi band to serenade her. It was glorious.
3. I now forget that certain conversations were in Spanish. I don’t forget that I’m speaking Spanish while I”m in the convo, but at the end of the day, I couldn’t tell you if I’ve spoken more Spanish or English. I remember who I talked to and what we talked about, but I don’t remember what language. It’s pretty cool to me that I’m just remembering the content, not the process to communicate it.
4. I sometimes accidentally sleep on the sofa instead of in bed, and this never ceases to amuse and mystify the girls at House of Glory. They laugh at me casi todo el tiempo. (almost all the time) Sorry, I wasn’t meaning to show off my Spanish; it’s just that sometimes my brain just wants to say it in Spanish and I let it.
Love and waiting,
Karen
9 Comments on “Fruit of the Day, III”

  1. tedenrice says:

    Four un-fruit-related thoughts: (I can’t get the font etc to change. Sorry)
    1. Susan is leaving. We are mourning this and having like four despedidas for her (House of Glory, jovenes, church, a party for everyone). But we are rejoicing and thanking God for her and in all circumstances.
    2. I was walking home from House of Glory tonight, and I heard trumpets playing nearby. I said to myself, “Karen, a rule for your life is this: ‘If you hear live trumpets and you don’t have anywhere you have to be, go find them.’” And so I did. A couple of block away, there was a MARIACHI BAND! Serenading an apartment! And all the neighbors had come outside to watch. I stood there, listening to the band and just reveled in the camaraderie and the good music and the thoughtfulness and effort of the person who had arranged this. The band finished and went inside with whoever they had come to serenade and I could barely keep myself from skipping home. I felt like running and skipping and hugging people. I burst into the apartment where lots of lovely people were talking and tried to explain all this with jumbled, excited Spanish, and I’m not sure that I communicated anything except that I was so full of joy that I couldn’t conjugate verbs. It made me think of Cynthia. If I ever want to make her so happy she dies, I will hire a mariachi band to serenade her. It was glorious.
    3. I now forget that certain conversations were in Spanish. I don’t forget that I’m speaking Spanish while I”m in the convo, but at the end of the day, I couldn’t tell you if I’ve spoken more Spanish or English. I remember who I talked to and what we talked about, but I don’t remember what language. It’s pretty cool to me that I’m just remembering the content, not the process to communicate it.
    4. I sometimes accidentally sleep on the sofa instead of in bed, and this never ceases to amuse and mystify the girls at House of Glory. They laugh at me casi todo el tiempo. (almost all the time) Sorry, I wasn’t meaning to show off my Spanish; it’s just that sometimes my brain just wants to say it in Spanish and I let it.
    Love and waiting,
    Karen

  2. tedenrice says:

    Okay, that’s the part in blue, but a little bit bigger. Mejor? (better?)

  3. Diana says:

    I don’t know when you changed it but the font on your header is much better.

  4. Your Dad says:

    How do the girls at the House of Glory know you sleep in on the sofa instead of in the bed?
    Love and lots questions. Dad

    • tedenrice says:

      I tell them. I told them one time just to have something to talk about, and now they ask me pretty regularly. Also: I accidentally slept on the couch again last night. Oops. I woke up this morning, exactly how I had leaned over after putting the guitar down, and Holly had so kindly brought me a blanket from my bed. I really need to know when I’m tired and just get in bed. Oh well, the girls will love hearing about it.

  5. Paige says:

    Your trumpet-seeking quest sounds perfect! I wish I could have been there with you 🙂
    I love to read about the way that your brain is transitioning into Spanish. I agree, it’s incredibly cool.

  6. Paige says:

    Also, it makes me smile that the item you used to demonstrate the size of the min-banana fruit was your camera lens. It reflects your personality and makes for a cute photo!

  7. cyntaur23 says:

    When we watch TV and movies, I generally forget very quickly whether it was in English with Spanish subtitles or dubbed in Spanish. It’s great.

    I.LOVE.MARIACHI.

  8. […] I tried in Peru that were new to me. Some of them were weirder than weird. Others were new and cool, but not mind-blowingly […]


Leave a Reply

