Bullet Points, but no bullets

People:

  • Lori Berry is wonderful. We had our first discipleship time with her today, and I was reminded just how much I love being around her. Her wisdom and honesty and presence are a wonderful gift of God in my life. (Here’s the kind of person she is: When I called her the Night of Forgetting You’re Leaving The Next Day And Panicking Like Nobody’s Business to ask some last minute packing questions and explained the whole story, she didn’t get stressed out or chastise me, she just cracked up laughing. It was glorious to see the absurdity of what I had almost done through her laughter.)
  • Susan Crenshaw is such a joy in our lives. I’m sad she’s leaving for the U.S. at the end of her term, which is so rapidly approaching. She is funny and honest and tells great stories and helps us negociate the big city of Lima and always dozes off on the couch and speaks her own particular brand of spanglish (“you malacostado’d it!” “Pues, it is bien cold out here”). I will miss her a ton, but I know God will continue to be faithful to her as she transitions.
  • Hadassah. What a cutie. She’s the little girl I hung out with when she was 0-4 weeks old, 6 moths old, and now she’s almost 2. How can that be? She’s her own person now. But we’re still buddies! Which makes me so happy. She just cracked up laughing when I “ate” the cupcakes off her shirt today and started eating her knees and head. And then she had to put on her shoes and walk us to the gate when we left. Kids are great, especially this one.

Books That Are Currently Impacting Me:

  • When I Don’t Desire God: How to Fight for Joy by John Piper, as recommended by Jesserman. I’m reading it online, which is hard for me, because I like to have a hard copy of things, but whew, it’s some hard stuff. The main point I’m taking away from it so far is that real Christianity and a real relationship with God is defined by a shift in our desires and the things we value. We have to want God; to value anything else above Him is sin. But we do it all the time. And we can’t change what we desire on our own. So, these are things that are hard to hear, because I can do the external things for a little bit, maybe. But that changing of my desires? That’s hard stuff. (Actually, the role that those second-order desires [desires about our desires] play in character and definition of self is something we thought about in tutorial this semester. It’s fascinating to see those thoughts come together with these new ones.) So, we’ll see what Piper has to say about how we change our desires (I’m assuming God’s going to play a pretty big part in this) and what this looks like. If any of y’all have read it, I’d love to hear your thoughts.
  • A Praying Life by A Guy Whose Name I’ve Forgotten And Am Too Lazy To Look Up Right Now, which is the book we’re reading this summer for the discipleship time. It’s solid stuff about (so far) being childlike in prayer: real, honest, confident, and persistent. It’s good reminders but here’s something that just set me back on my heels a bit: (Something like): “Becoming more like Jesus means realizing more and more that you cannot do life on your own and depending more and more on the Father.” Huh. I guess in my head Sanctification, or becoming more like Jesus, meant that you  got more confident, a bit more capable, and loved people better. Nope. Sanctification means that you see more and more how much, thoroughly, hurtfully, and ugli-ly you mess up. You realize how much you are dependent on the Father, and your confidence comes in your growing knowledge of His faithfulness and love. That’s what it would look like to become more like Jesus. More mercy.

Books I’m Thinking About Starting:

  • What is the What by David Eggars. It’s the story of a Lost Boy, and it’s supposed to be super hard and good. It’s not like I have tons of time; it’s just that I think my downtime (which is super necessary) could be better used by reading Real Things than by spending it on the computer. Thoughts?

Love and learning,

Karen

2 Comments on “Bullet Points, but no bullets”

  1. Abi says:

    your downtime will only be better spent not on the computer if you are still blogging.

    that’s super selfish of me (cause it’s a good book!!!). but it’s my opinion!

  2. I like books like this on occasion…motivate me to be willing to be willing. But, in “real life” I don’t think becoming like Jesus and doing kingdom work is that difficult…just keep loving the Lord and what He loves (people) and reading the Word. When you read the Word, the Spirit prompts and corrects little by little, today’s lesson, not the whole mountain at once. Just Grandma’s thought after being a Christian for over 60 years. A steady diet of heavy books can make a heavy heart. Keep rejoicing in the God of your salvation…”Like as a father pitieth his children, so the Lord pitieth them who fear(honor) Him. For He knoweth our frame; He remembereth that we are dust….
    17 But the mercy of the Lord is from everlasting to everlasting upon them that fear him, and His righteouness unto children’s children. Ps. 103:13-14, 17


Leave a Reply

