How To Be

I don’t know How to Be, tonight. Or Which to be, of the many things to be. So…bullet points/lists it is again. Don’t get whiplash from the various tones/emotions/whatevers.

1. Today I: had my nails painted and hung out with the chicas and babies from Casa de la Gloria. It was chill and good. I also ate delicious food. Again. It’s the bomb. (New goal: be able to cook at least two Peruvian dishes and make a lunch for Enrique and Martha and Romina and Gianella before we leave.) Went to a meeting to prepare for the teams who are coming. Babysat the Berry kids, who I love, but who gave me the run-around this time. Ah well, next time I’ll be a bit tougher.

2. First two solo taxi rides. Not gonna lie, the second one, the one where the driver had to let the car coast down the street a ways before it could even s-t-r-u-g-g-l-e to life, was a bit of an adventure. The windshield wipers weren’t encouraging either. And neither was the fact that at one point he put on his seatbelt, but mine seemed to me missing a buckle. But don’t worry, y’all, I’m fine.

3. I find myself running to and depending on God less as I’m not smashed face-to-face with my failures so regularly. So, just pray that I would love God, not just want to love God. And continue to pursue Him, regardless of emotion. Here’s what’s true: He’s good, and I am not. I am acceptable through Jesus’ death in my place. He want to make me more like Himself, and that is the highest call for my life. I dunno much else, but those are things I believe.

4. Everyone who lives in this apartment has the middle name of Elizabeth. Booyah.

5. I need to go to bed, but I like sitting around and talking to the people with the middle name of Elizabeth who live here. Tomorrow: Church, maybe playing with the band, 3rd Anniversary of Luz de Vida, selecting designs for the jewelry business, photographing them, and maybe exploring Lima some more.

Love and sketchy taxis,

Karen

One Comment on “How To Be”

  1. […] my first few days of adjustment (warning, I was a bit of a […]


Leave a Reply

