No Personal Space, and Teaching, and Standing, Oh My!

Okay, when I try to update quickly, I’m pretty boring and not very funny, but I can’t live with it and so can you.

Last night we worshiped and played get-to-know-you games.  We played the one called, “I love my neighbor who….” and you fill in the blank with an attribute (ie. “has blonde hair,” “knows who sings ‘Another One Bites the Dust'”, :had to get more than 5 shots for their trip”).  We played forever, but it was really fun. The MTW staff are silly and fun and (as we found out when they taught) really thoughtful and passionate. However, in this game, we mainly saw their silly and passionate sides.  Opal and Barbara almost took some people out. Sheesh! It’s a fun group.

We got up for breakfast at 7:30 am, which felt like 6:30 to my brain. I know, I know, all you people who get up earlier than that every day are playing a sad, sad song on the world’s smallest violin.  I can handle it.

Anyway, the morning was filled with teaching and activities about team building. Usually I roll my eyes at those sort of things, but these were insightful, and, thanks to God’s help, I have a pretty good attitude about them and am open to learning. This is totally a work of God. I tend to want to tune things out.

Okay, I’m running out of time, but here are some observations:

  • I feel like such a Northerner, unlike any other time I’ve felt in my life. It’s funny, everyone is from Georgia, North Carolina, South Carolina, Florida, Alabama, etc. And almost every conversation we’ve had a dinner, with guys or girls, have included at least 15 minutes of talk about college football. Culture shock before I even leave the States! It’s great.
  • The camp is lovely, in the mountains and woods. We’ve been and will continue to do a bunch of team building ropes course stuff, so we’re experiencing lots of woodsy stuff
  • God is convicting me on lots of pride, which is good, but embarrassing and hard. More mercy.
Leave a Reply

