The Place to Be

…this blog is, if you want to hear about my life and time in Lima this summer. Or, actually, I’ll be copying and pasting things onto facebook as notes for those people who would rather get Exciting News and Updates that way. So, turns out either place is the place to be.

Eesh, it kind of stresses me out that there is a word count at the bottom of this blog-post-editing screen. Reminds me of writing papers (just get to 1500, just get to 1500…). Actually, I always went over word count anyways, but it still stresses me out a bit.

Okay. On to the Exciting News and Updates:

1. I’m going to Lima for two and a half months! And I love it there so much. Oh man.

2. I’m leaving for training and Lima straight from there in….8 days! So much to do, with being home, unpacking from school, spending Quality Time with family and others, making a photobook of this last year, packing for winter in Lima (eesh. I was just warming up to the idea of summer). [and, yes, I did mean to use that pun. And, yes, I am ashamed. a little bit.] , getting my focus in the right place, and working out logistics for everything. Whew.

3. God has used you guys to provide for all of the costs of my trip! Thank you for being so generous. For the first three weeks after I sent out my support letters, I either couldn’t access my account or y’all’s giving hadn’t shown up yet, so I was a little surprised by the fact that no one gave, but I just figured this was God’s sign that I didn’t really need any savings for next year anyways. But then, for the next month, I was just floored by how God used y’all to encourage me and make my trip possible while still being responsible for next year’s expenses. Thanks, guys! (also: thanks for being patient with me in sending thank you notes. I think I have them all done now, but yell at me if I miss y’all somehow. seriously. I am very thankful and I want to show you that through a thank you note!)

4. Things to be praying for me about: God has been impressing on me the verses ( I put on my prayer letter in a variety of cool, eye-rollingly obvious ways (He knows I need things to be obvious sometimes).  Ask me about how He’s been doing that, sometime. It’s a good story. So, please pray Ephesians 3:16-21 for me. I want to be rooted and grounded in Jesus’ love, not in my own strength or even my excitement or the expectations of others.  This will then change how I interact with others, how I spend my time these 8 days, my attitude, everything.  And please let me know how I can pray for you. For serious.  I like you all, and I want to know what’s going on in my friends and family’s lives and to take that to Jesus. So tell me how I can pray for you.

Okay. I’m going to stop for now. The Handy Dandy Word Counter tells me I have written, at this precise moment, 529 words. I’m down with that.

May you be rooted and grounded in His love- Dios te bendiga!

Karen

(550 words.)

2 Comments on “The Place to Be”

  1. Tori says:

    AH can’t wait to check this daily along with Nic’s adventures to Brazil! He made a blog too! Will be praying for you Karen 🙂

  2. Jess says:

    yay! (to most of the things in your post, and to the fact that you made a blog!)


Leave a Reply

